Weekly Check In: Portland is Wet

on

There was a time that the wobbly weather bothered me. I didn’t like that one week it was 80º and sunny and the next week it was 60º and raining. But I’ve changed my tune. It’s a momentary breather, a windy reminder to appreciate the rays when they’re around.

The boyfriend is all moved in now as of yesterday which leaves us with a stack of boxes and five more lamps than any sane person could possibly need. At his suggestion, we’re going to team up on a things to know about cohabitation post. If you have anything you’re particularly curious about knowing, throw up a question in the ask advice section and I’ll make sure to add something about it in there.

As for everyone who has said good luckI am pocketing it away for trickier times. He has broken me open, made me find my smile lines, and continues to surprise me every day.

School has been tricky. I feel like the last year has been perpetual senioritis. I write papers the morning they are due simply because I can, because I’ve written that paper a million times before, because I’m bored. A few of my teachers present real challenges which I’ve been liking. You can do better, add this, change that, submit revisions. These are the kind of teachers they make shiny red apples for.

I’ve been writing a lot about intersectionality for my class. Simply: When we talk about identity (ex: I am a woman) can we really have that conversation without all kinds of identity? (ex: As a white woman my experience is different than a black woman.) I am also coming up with a plan to motivate businesses to have greater employee satisfaction. Had the project been to find a way to motivate myself to do projects, I might be further along.

I also have to write a seven page paper on some aspect of women in religion. Christ. Does anyone have any suggestions? Paging my few religion-blogger friends.

Media Now:

Television: The Killing, Game of Thrones, Modern Family.

Movies: Just saw Gozilla. Rawwwwr. Stomp stomp stomp. Could have been better, could have been way worse. Worth the watch in theaters.

Music: Just saw Damien Jurado live in Portland. He sounded so beautiful live. Check him out on Spotify, and if you’re ever in town, make sure to find a show to see live at the Doug Fir Lounge. A++

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m in the midst of reading Christopher Moore’s Lamb and my coffee isn’t going to drink itself.

What’s new with you? Let me know in the comments!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I went and saw Godzilla last night. It was nice that he was a hero, of sorts.

    Like

    1. ST says:

      I agree, I liked that part.

      Like

  2. LaNeshe (Nesheaholic.com) says:

    “He has broken me open, made me find my smile lines, and continues to surprise me every day.” —- that is beautiful!

    Like

What do you think?

