Required: Mutual Emotional Connection?

on

Hi, Your openness is deeply appreciated. So, I do not orgasm with my partner, ever. However I am very aroused, wet and it feels amazing. When I masturbate, orgasm is easy, and my mental pictures involve my partner. Even when he is not around I become highly aroused just thinking of him, or a wave of pleasure just happens and I taste or see him in my mind. So why don’t I ever orgasm with him? he is very, very good and is eager to please both of us, nothing is off limits if I agree. I have a long history of making sure the men I am with are well taken care of and I know that is where most of my focus is, and seeing,touching his body causes something similar to a small orgasm…so why never the full orgasm? I am more aroused by him than I have ever been. I crave the sex. I know he cares about me, not love, nor will there ever be anything but occasional sex, and good friendship. Sometimes when he leaves I feel empty, sad. Not always, and we talk or see each other most days. After he leaves, I very quickly have an explosive orgasm by mastubating. I suspect the issue is my thoughts and feelings, relationship desires, and I don’t know what to do to. Please, can you help me sort this out?

When you’re having partnered sex, your attention is often divided. You’re focusing on yourself, you’re focusing on your partner, and you’re focusing on the two of you together. Whether or not this focus is intentional, there’s often more stimuli than being alone, by yourself, with your attention focused on yourself.

For many people it’s this division of their attention that creates the problem. When you’re alone, without a partner, you are able to almost instinctively increase speed, pressure, or angle to get the desired effect. With a partner, this might be more difficult. You may not be able to get the angle quite perfect. If you do get the angle perfect, one or both of you may not have the stamina to continue that position long enough to hit the peak. Many women are hesitant in taking control and using toys or their hands to add stimulation which also creates a huge barrier. Most women require some kind of clitoral stimulation to reach an orgasm and that’s something that often receives a lot of focus in masturbation, hence higher success rates to reaching an orgasm in masturbation than in partnered sex.

Despite this, I think your struggle is a little more, uh, emotional. I find that people often ask for advice when they already know the answer. You end your question with what I think is the answer. You have a good time with him, but the emotional cords are frayed and you can’t fully complete the connection. For some people, this is not optional for having a fulfilling sexual experience. Loving your partner and fully feeling loved back is what allows some to let go and find that sense of release. I sense you are trying to find that connection with your partner through sex but it is not being reciprocated. So, as you near your orgasm, at a moment that you may want to be sexually and emotionally fulfilling, you’re only getting 50% of the deal.

I think it’s important that you question what potential harm you might be causing yourself by continuing a sexual relationship with someone who does not feel quite the same way about you as you do about him. Will this unrequited love hold you back from seeking out a relationship with someone who wants you just as much? Can you accept that this sexual relationship is just a good time between friends, nothing more? If you can’t deal with it, consider breaking ties, and keep looking for that person who really does it for you. If you can deal with it, and think that the culprit of your so-so orgasms might not be emotional, start to be more demanding in the bedroom. If your partner looks like he’s going to orgasm but you feel like your orgasm is only 20% of the way there, hold back a bit, and ask for what you want or need to get the rest of the way there. Try to let your long-standing habit of pleaser gently become the pleased.

Have a question about sex, love, gender, life? Submit at http://www.suggestivetongue.com/ask and I’ll answer it on my blog. 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. rushmorejudd says:

    One thing that can work for a “pleaser” who has trouble having orgasms is to wither be tied up or pretend to be tied up. This can provide a method for freeing your need to please the other and concentrate on yourself. You may even want to offer separate sessions where you please him and then he pleases you at separate times with separate focuses.

    Like

What do you think?

