Hello Vs. Hello!

on

I was leaving for work. I took my apron off and I dusted away the petals and dirt from the counter and I placed my daily notes in their usual spot. I hung my purse around my shoulder and I flipped the sign to out. As I was walking away a girl turned to look at me and said

hey!”

The kind of hey! you say when you run into a friend you didn’t expect to see. The emphasis on the word, pointed, enthusiastic, surprised. This wasn’t like the dozens of hellos! I’d given throughout the day.

Friendly, yet required.

I asked her if I knew her and she said no, she was just saying hey! I said hey! back with the same enthusiasm. I couldn’t stop smiling the rest of the way home.

These are our little lessons today:

  1. Look people in the eyes and hold eye contact for just a moment
  2. Smile, earnestly, with sonder. Their life is just as vivid and complex as yours.
  3. Say hello like you mean it. Of all the people in all the world you each spun on your feet at just the right moment, in just the right place, to see each other. In all likelihood you’ll never see this person again.

What do you think?

