Introducing: Sexed Ed

on

Welcome to the latest, and hopefully greatest, or at least most bearable new segment on my blog. Sexed Ed. I just like it better than the sound of sex ed. It’s essentially the same thing, but just more, y’know, sexed.

I’ve broken down the year into twelve months. Which it already is, so I took the rest of the day off, feeling accomplished at having finished step one of my plan.

From there I chose twelve topics I wanted to discuss throughout the year in greater depth:

  • January – Women’s Health
  • February – Casual Sex & Dating
  • March – Men’s Health
  • April – Monogamy
  • May – Non-Monogamy
  • June – Kink
  • July – Intimacy Practices
  • August – Intersectionality
  • September – Communication
  • October – Menstruation
  • November – Trans Awareness
  • December – Gender Identity & Politics

A few things:

  1. Menstruation gets a whole month because no one talks about it and no one really knows anything about it and, frankly, I feel like we should re-learn the process together once a year anyways.
  2. Trans Awareness falls in Trans Awareness Month. Because I’m not Trans I’ll be providing basic information and linking to one Trans blog or author per post.
  3. Intersectionality will break down subjects like race, gender, sexuality, culture, socioeconic status and ability.
  4. Some of these groups will overlap and they’re not meant to be all-encompassing.
  5. Each post that falls within my Sexed Ed category will include a question box at the bottom. Readers will be encouraged to ask questions pertaining to the post which will hopefully lead to future, advice-column posts in the same genre. By all means, feel free to continue asking any other questions you might have even if they don’t fall within that genre.

I had mentioned last year that I feel like one way I can fight back against our supreme leader and nazi overlords is by writing. We’re at the dawn of a new year with new suits and potentially damaging changes coming. I’m talking to women, and minorities, but I’m also talking to heterosexual white men. You’re in a position where you could, if you wanted to, exist within a political landscape that reinforces your ability to live within a toxic masculinity. That’s not a safe space to be because it doesn’t allow you to think or feel like an actual human being. Your ability to be the kind of man you think is right, good, and just is on the line as well. Let’s talk about what all of that means and how to turn 2017 on it’s ass.

xx st

4 Comments Add yours

  1. C says:

    I don’t remember how old I was when I started menstrating but I can say I knew very little about it. It comes once a month, about every 28 days, and there are awful cramps. It wasn’t until something was wrong and I found a holistic nurse that I started learning about my body, how it works, and how to fix it.

    Like

    1. ST says:

      I think that’s so often how it goes, too!

      Like

  2. Fruit Taster says:

    I appreciate that last bit about the place of males in the current political climate. I sometimes find myself reading something that paints men a certain way and that I want to distance myself from or that I want to express my disapproval of. I have a feeling this will happen more and more in 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ST says:

      I’m sure it will. Men can be powerful advocates, luckily!

      Like

What do you think?

